Find a Personal Injury Lawyer in Your Area.  


Personal Injury Law

North Dakota Personal Injury Lawyers

Click on a city to find a Personal Injury Lawyer near you.

Fargo-Valley City


North Dakota Government Resources
Law Schools in North Dakota
North Dakota Legal Associations
North Dakota Personal Injury Overview

Personal injury law involves civil claims in which an individual is injured through the negligence, recklessness or intentional misconduct of another person, a company, or property owner. A personal injury lawsuit may arise from physical or emotional injuries. Personal injury law compensates individuals injured as a result of another's negligence or intentional misconduct. Personal injury laws vary from state to state. If you believe you have a personal injury claim, you should contact a personal injury lawyer in North Dakota to evaluate your claim.

North Dakota follows a system using the modified comparative negligence – 50% rule.  In states following a modified comparative fault – 50% rule, an injured party can only recover if it is determined that his or her fault in causing the injury is 49% or less, with the resulting damage award reduced by the injured party’s amount of fault.  If the injured party’s fault level reaches 50%, he or she cannot recover any damages resulting from the accident.  For example, if Debbie sued Dave for damages she suffered in a car accident involving their vehicles, and Debbie was 50% at fault, Debbie would not recover anything from Dave.  If, however, Debbie was 40% at fault, she could recover damages, but the damage award would be reduced by her portion of the fault in causing the injury.  Therefore, a finding that Debbie suffered $10,000 in damages would result in Debbie receiving an award reduced by 40%, or a final award of $6,000. 

Click here to read about contributory vs. comparative negligence.

A statute of limitations is a type of law that restricts the period of time that a person may initiate legal proceedings.  Time limits can vary depending on the type of case and the state where the particular cause of action occurred. To learn more about statutes of limitations, read our Statute of Limitations page. To see a state by state comparison chart for the personal injury statute of limitations for each state, read our Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Actions page.

North Dakota Statutes of Limitations

In North Dakota, the courts follow a modified joint and several liability approach in entering judgment against multiple defendants.  Generally, North Dakota has eliminated joint and several liability except in cases where it is determined that the defendants acted in concert to harm the plaintiff.  In most other cases, each defendant is responsible only for the proportion of negligence attributed to him or her. 

Click here for more about Joint and Several Liability.

One of the best ways to research personal injury lawyers in North Dakota is to contact courts in ND and ask them for information about the personal injury attorneys who utilize their legal facilities when they bring personal injury cases to court. We have compiled a list below of some courts in North Dakota to get you started:

Supreme Courts
North Dakota Supreme Court
Judicial Wing, First Floor
State Capitol
600 E. Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58505-0530

North Dakota Court of Appeals
600 E. Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58505-0530

District Courts
Adams County Courthouse
P.O. Box 469
Hettinger, ND 58639-0469

Barnes County Courthouse
230 4th St. NW
Valley City, ND 58072-0774

Benson County Courthouse
P.O. Box 213
Minnewaukan, ND 58351-0213

Billings County Courthouse
P.O. Box 138
Medora, ND 58645

Bottineau County Courthouse
314 W. 5th St.
Bottineau, ND 58318

Bowman County Courthouse
P.O. Box 379
Bowman, ND 58623

Burke County Courthouse
P.O. Box 219
Bowbells, ND 58721-0219

Burleigh County Courthouse
514 East Thayer Ave
P.O. Box 1055
Bismarck, ND 58502-1055

Cass County Courthouse
211 S. 9th St.
P.O. Box 2806
Fargo, ND 58108-2806

Cavalier County Courthouse
901 3rd St.
Langdon, ND 58249

Dickey County Courthouse
P.O. Box 336
Ellendale, ND 58436-0336

Divide County Courthouse
P.O. Box 68
Crosby, ND 58730

Dunn County Courthouse
P.O. Box 136
Manning, ND 58642-0136

Eddy County Courthouse
24 Central Ave.
New Rockford, ND 58356

Emmons County Courthouse
P.O. Box 905
Linton, ND 58552-0905

Foster County Courthouse
P.O. Box 257
Carrington, ND 58421

Golden Valley County Courthouse
P.O. Box 9
Beach, ND 58621-0009

Grand Forks County Courthouse
P.O. Box 5939
Grand Forks, ND 58206-5939

Grant County Courthouse
P.O. Box 258
Carson, ND 58529-0258

Griggs County Courthouse
P.O. Box 326
Cooperstown, ND 58425-0326

Hettinger County Courthouse
336 Pacific Ave.
P.O. Box 668
Mott, ND 58646-0668

Kidder County Courthouse
P.O. Box 66
Steele, ND 58482

LaMoure County Courthouse
P.O. Box 128
LaMoure, ND 58458

Logan County Courthouse
P.O. Box 6
Napoleon, ND 58561

McHenry County Courthouse
P.O. Box 117
Towner, ND 58788-0117

McIntosh County Courthouse
P.O. Box 179
Ashley, ND 58413-0179

McKenzie County Courthouse
P.O. Box 524
Watford City, ND 58854

McLean County Courthouse
712 5th Ave.
P.O. Box 1108
Washburn, ND 58577-0139

Mercer County Courthouse
P.O. Box 39
Stanton, ND 58571

Morton County Courthouse
210 2nd Ave. NW
Mandan, ND 58554-0186

Mountrail County Courthouse
P.O. Box 69
Stanley, ND 58784-0340

Nelson County Courthouse
210 B Ave W Ste 203
Lakota, ND 58344-7410

Oliver County Courthouse
P.O. Box 125
Center, ND 58530-0125

Pembina County Courthouse
301 Dakota St. W. #6
Cavalier, ND 58220-4100

Pierce County Courthouse
240 2nd St. SE
Rugby, ND 58368-1830

Ramsey County Courthouse
524 4th Ave #4
Devils Lake, ND 58301

Ransom County Courthouse
P.O. Box 626
Lisbon, ND 58054-0626

Renville County Courthouse
P.O. Box 68
Mohall, ND 58761

Richland County Courthouse
418 2nd Ave. N.
Wahpeton, ND 58075

Rolette County Courthouse
P.O. Box 460
Rolla, ND 58367

Sargent County Courthouse
355 Main St.
P.O. Box 176
Forman, ND 58032-0176

Sheridan County Courthouse
P.O. Box 668
McClusky, ND 58463-0668

Sioux County Courthouse
P.O. Box L
Fort Yates, ND 58538

Slope County Courthouse
P.O. Box JJ
Amidon, ND 58620

Stark County Courthouse
51 3rd St. E., Suite 106
Dickinson, ND 58601

Steele County Courthouse
P.O. Box 296
Finley, ND 58230-0296

Stutsman County Courthouse
511 2nd Ave. SE
Jamestown, ND 58401-4210

Towner County Courthouse
P.O. Box 517
Cando, ND 58324-0517

Traill County Courthouse
P.O. Box 805
Hillsboro, ND 58045

Walsh County Courthouse
600 Cooper Ave.
Grafton, ND 58237-1542

Ward County Courthouse
315 SE 3rd St.
P.O. Box 5005
Minot ND 58702-5005

Wells County Courthouse
P.O. Box 155
Fessenden, ND 58438

Williams County Courthouse
205 E. Broadway
P.O. Box 2047
Williston, ND 58802-2047


Click on a link to find a Personal Injury Lawyer in that state.
Home | Sitemap | Links | Law Schools | Law Articles | Legal Resources | Law Journals | About Personal Injury Attorneys | State Courts
Disclaimer: The content throughout The Personal Injury Directory is not intended to be or to replace legal advice. The information throughout The Personal Injury Directory is intended to provide general information regarding personal injury law.
If you are interested in bringing a personal injury lawsuit, contact a trial attorney in your area of North Dakota above .
The Personal Injury Lawyer Directory