Maine Statutes of Limitations
A statute of limitations is a statute, or law, that restricts the period of time, after certain events, that a person may initiate legal proceedings. These time limits vary depending on the type of case and the state where the particular cause of action occurred. After the time limit has passed, the injured person no longer has the right to sue to recovery money damages, unless a legal exception applies. The following provides a brief summary, in alphabetical order, of some of the limitations periods for the state of Maine for those actions related to personal injury, medical malpractice, and some products liability. Please contact a qualified Maine lawyer to find out how a statute of limitations applies to your situation.
Actions based on fraud must be filed within 6 years from the date of the injury.
These types of actions must be filed within 2 years from the date of the action.
All actions against medical professionals must be filed within 3 years of the date of the act resulting in the medical malpractice injury. Cases where the injured party is a minor, a medical malpractice action must be filed within 3 years after the minor reaches the age of 18, or within 6 years of the act resulting in the injury, whichever occurs first.
Personal injury actions must be filed within 6 years from the date of the injury.
Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Actions Chart
Product liability actions must be filed within 6 years from the date of the injury.
All actions against legal professionals must be filed within 2 years of the date of the act resulting in the injury.
Wrongful death actions must be filed within 2 years of the date of death.
Special Rules Tolling the Statute of Limitations:
A statute of limitations is tolled when certain conditions are present. When a statute is tolled, the limitations period is essentially put on hold for a period of time. Some typical reasons that a statute is tolled include situations when the victim of the injury was a minor at the time of the injury (minority), when the victim of the injury was mentally incompetent at the time of the injury (mental incompetence), and when the defendant has filed bankruptcy.
In Maine, when the injured party is a minor, that minor will have 6 years after his or her 18th birthday to file a claim. This exception does not apply in medical malpractice or wrongful death cases, however. In those instances, please refer to the above information, or refer to the statute directly. If an injured party is deemed to be mentally incompetent or insane, the applicable limitations period will begin to run after the disability has been removed.
Click here for a list of Maine personal injury attorneys.
Click here to contact The Personal Injury Lawyer Directory.