Mississippi Statute of Limitations
A statute of limitations is a statute, or law, that restricts the period of time, after certain events, that a person may initiate legal proceedings. These time limits vary depending on the type of case and the state where the particular cause of action occurred. After the time limit has passed, the injured person no longer has the right to sue to recovery money damages, unless a legal exception applies. The following provides a brief summary, in alphabetical order, of some of the limitations periods for the state of Mississippi for those actions related to personal injury, medical malpractice, and some products liability. Please contact a qualified Mississippi lawyer to find out how a statute of limitations applies to your situation.
These types of actions must be filed within 1 year from the date of the action.
All actions against medical professionals must be filed within 2 years of the date of the act resulting in the injury, or within 2 years of the date the injury was, or should have been, discovered. A suit may not be commenced more than seven years after the date of the act resulting in the injury. This timeframe applies to all minors over the age of six. If a minor is under the age of six, however, that minor must file a medical malpractice action within 2 years from the minor’s 6th birthday.
Personal injury claims based on negligent actions must be filed within 3 years from the date of the injury. Personal injury claims based on intentional misconduct must be filed within 1 year from the date of injury.
Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Actions Chart
Product liability actions must be filed within 3 years from the date of the injury.
All actions against professionals must be filed within 2 years of the date of the act resulting in the injury, or within 2 years of the date the injury was, or should have been, discovered. A suit may not be commenced more than seven years after the date of the act resulting in the injury.
Wrongful death actions based on negligence must be filed within 3 years of the date of death. A wrongful death claim based on an intentional tort must be filed within 1 year of the date of death.
Special Rules Tolling the Statute of Limitations:
A statute of limitations is tolled when certain conditions are present. When a statute is tolled, the limitations period is essentially put on hold for a period of time. Some typical reasons that a statute is tolled include situations when the victim of the injury was a minor at the time of the injury (minority), when the victim of the injury was mentally incompetent at the time of the injury (mental incompetence), and when the defendant has filed bankruptcy.
In Mississippi, when the injured party is a minor the limitations period begins to run on that minor’s 21st birthday. This exception does not apply in medical malpractice cases, however. In those instances, please refer to the above information, or refer to the statute directly. If an injured party is deemed to be mentally incompetent or insane at the time the cause of action accrued, he or she will have the standard limitations period allowed to file a legal claim. This limitations period, however, will not begin to run until the disability has been removed. However, the extension for persons with disabilities may not be longer than 21 years.
Click here for a list of Mississippi personal injury attorneys.
Click here to contact The Personal Injury Lawyer Directory.