North Dakota Statutes of Limitations
A statute of limitations is a statute, or law, that restricts the period of time, after certain events, that a person may initiate legal proceedings. These time limits vary depending on the type of case and the state where the particular cause of action occurred. After the time limit has passed, the injured person no longer has the right to sue to recovery money damages, unless a legal exception applies. The following provides a brief summary, in alphabetical order, of some of the limitations periods for the state of North Dakota for those actions related to personal injury, medical malpractice, and some products liability. Please contact a qualified North Dakota lawyer to find out how a statute of limitations applies to your situation.
Actions based on exposure to Asbestos must be filed within 3 years from the date of discovery of the exposure.
Actions based on fraud must be filed within 6 years. This six year limitation period begins to run from the date the fraud was discovered, or reasonably should have been discovered.
These types of actions must be filed within 2 years from the date of the action.
All actions against medical professionals must be filed within 2 years of the date of the act resulting in the injury, or within 2 years of the date the injury was, or should have been, discovered. A suit may not be filed more than six years after the date of the act resulting in the injury. If the injured party is a minor, the limitations period may be extended, but may not exceed 12 years from the date of the act resulting in the injury.
Personal injury actions must be filed within 2 years from the date of the injury.
Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Actions Chart
Product liability actions must be filed within 10 years from the date of initial purchase, or within 11 years from the date of manufacture. This limitations period applies to minors.
All actions against professionals must be filed within 2 years of the date of the act resulting in the injury, or within 2 years of the date the injury was, or should have been, discovered.
Wrongful death actions must be filed within 2 years of the date of death.
Special Rules Tolling the Statute of Limitations:
A statute of limitations is tolled when certain conditions are present. When a statute is tolled, the limitations period is essentially put on hold for a period of time. Some typical reasons that a statute is tolled include situations when the victim of the injury was a minor at the time of the injury (minority), when the victim of the injury was mentally incompetent at the time of the injury (mental incompetence), and when the defendant has filed bankruptcy.
In North Dakota, when the injured party is a minor the limitations period begins to run on that minor’s 18th birthday. This exception does not apply in medical malpractice, wrongful death, or product liability cases, however. In those instances, please refer to the above information, or refer to the statute directly. If an injured party is deemed to be mentally incompetent or insane, the limitations period will begin to run after the termination of the disability, not to exceed 5 years.
Click here for a list of North Dakota personal injury attorneys.
Click here to contact The Personal Injury Lawyer Directory.