Find a Personal Injury Lawyer in Your Area.  

About

Personal Injury Law

Tennessee Statutes of Limitations

A statute of limitations is a statute, or law, that restricts the period of time, after certain events, that a person may initiate legal proceedings.  These time limits vary depending on the type of case and the state where the particular cause of action occurred.  After the time limit has passed, the injured person no longer has the right to sue to recovery money damages, unless a legal exception applies.  The following provides a brief summary, in alphabetical order, of some of the limitations periods for the state of Tennessee for those actions related to personal injury, medical malpractice, and some products liability.  Please contact a qualified Tennessee lawyer to find out how a statute of limitations applies to your situation. 

Breast Implants:
Actions based injury suffered as a result of breast implants must be filed within 25 years from the implant surgery, or within 4 years from the date the injury was discovered.

Libel-Slander-Defamation:
Libel actions must be filed within 1 year from the date of the action.  Slander actions must be filed within 6 months from the date of the action.

Medical Malpractice:
All actions against medical professionals must be filed within 1 year of the date of the act resulting in the injury, or within 1 year of the date the injury was, or should have been, discovered.  A suit may not be filed more than three years after the date of the act resulting in the injury.

Medical Malpractice Actions Based on Foreign Object Left in Body:
All actions against medical professionals based on the presence of a foreign object in the body must be filed within 1 year after the foreign object was, or should have been, discovered.

Personal Injury:
Personal injury actions must be filed within 1 year from the date of the injury.

Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Actions Chart

Product Liability:
Product liability actions must be filed within 1 year from the date of the injury. 

Professional Malpractice:
All actions against professionals must be filed within 1 year of the date of the act resulting in the injury.

Wrongful Death:
Wrongful death actions must be filed within 1 year of the date of death.

Special Rules Tolling the Statute of Limitations:
A statute of limitations is tolled when certain conditions are present.  When a statute is tolled, the limitations period is essentially put on hold for a period of time.  Some typical reasons that a statute is tolled include situations when the victim of the injury was a minor at the time of the injury (minority), when the victim of the injury was mentally incompetent at the time of the injury (mental incompetence), and when the defendant has filed bankruptcy. 

In Tennessee, when the injured party is a minor the limitations period begins to run on that minor’s 18th birthday.  This exception does not apply in medical malpractice or wrongful death cases, however.  In those instances, please refer to the above information, or refer to the statute directly.  If an injured party is deemed to be mentally incompetent or insane, he or she will have 1 year after the termination of the disability to file his or her claim. 

Click here for a list of Tennessee personal injury attorneys.

Click here to contact The Personal Injury Lawyer Directory.

 

 
Click on a link to find a Personal Injury Lawyer in that state.
Home | Sitemap | Links | Law Schools | Law Articles | Legal Resources | Law Journals | About Personal Injury Attorneys | State Courts
Disclaimer: The information throughout The Personal Injury Directory is not intended to be or to replace legal advice. The information throughout The Personal Injury Directory is intended to provide general information regarding personal injury law. If you are interested in bringing a personal injury lawsuit, contact an accident attorney in your area.
The Personal Injury Lawyer Directory